365 Days of Art: Day 129 – Drawing a Domino

The challenge: Create some form of visual art, no matter how small, each day for a full year.

I’m definitely stuck in a drawing rut. (I’m also really hoping that is how you spell “rut.” It kind of reminds me when I kept writing that something “peaked” my interest when it really “piqued” my interest.) Anyway, back to the drawing rut. I need to paint. I need to get the brush to the paper instead of the pencil. I will start that tomorrow. I’m just a little overwhelmed with work and family at the moment. And getting out all the painting supplies feels so daunting.

I suppose I should mention that it is Mother’s Day. Happy Mother’s Day to all of you who are mothers. And tho those of you who aren’t mothers, Happy Mother’s Day from all those people you have poured your life into. The ones you have cared for and given love to even though they aren’t your children. Even if they don’t tell you, you are just like a mother to them, and your influence on their lives has left a great impact.

My day went nicely. All I really wanted for Mother’s Day was to eat saturated fat and sugar. I’m on such a restricted diet for food allergy reasons. I can’t have any grain, including corn, and that eliminates all processed food. (Long story, but ask me about citric acid sometime.) I have to make every meal from scratch, and that takes a lot of time. Saturated fat (I.e. butter) and sugar aren’ on my allergy lists, so I can technically have them. I avoid both because 1) my cholesterol is higher than it should be and 2) sugar gives me acne. (It took me 40 years to figure this out.) I would rather have clear enough skin to wear a tank top than eat something sugary.

This Mother’s Day. I made my family pasta (lentil pasta cause I can’t have grain) with homemade Alfredo sauce. I also made apple crisp (with buckwheat flour instead of regular and pecans instead of oats—this is basically my life now), and I made homemade whipped cream with homemade vanilla extract. (I forgot to mention the yeast allergy, so any alcohol must be grain free (including corn) and triple distilled. Hence I have to make my own whipped cream.)

This Mother’s Day was yummy, but I think I gained five pounds, and I spent most of my time in the kitchen. Hence I didn’t really have time for any art—again—until late tonight.

Anyway, today I did another idea from 642 Tiny Things to Draw: a domino. I keep choosing these things that are supposed to be simple and end up being more complicated than I expected. Take for instance: the domino. It has curved edges and is shiny. Drawing it in less than two inches prevents me from being able to put in a lot of those details.

Here is my domino:

I’m not that impressed with it. I just have to keep reminding myself that:

  • All drawing practice will lead me further down the art road.
  • All drawing practice will enhance my watercolor skills.

So even though I’m not impressed, I know it will help me in the future.

Tomorrow is Monday. That’s 26 minutes from now, so make the most of these 26 minutes! See you all tomorrow.

About M. B. Weston

M. B. Weston is an award-winning fantasy, pulp, young adult, steampunk, and paranormal author. Her attention to procedure and detail gives her works an authentic gritty, military feel that takes an adventure tale to the level of a true page-turner. Weston’s writing attracts both fantasy and non-fantasy readers, and her audience ranges from upper-elementary students to adults. A gifted orator, Weston has been invited as a guest speaker to numerous writing and science fiction/fantasy panels at conventions across the US, including DragonCon, BabelCon, NecronomiCon, and Alabama Phoenix Festival. She has served on panels with such authors as Sherrilyn Kenyon, J. F. Lewis, Todd McCaffrey, and Jonathan Maberry. Weston has spoken to thousands of students and adults about the craft of writing and has been invited as the keynote speaker at youth camps and at several schools throughout the US.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.